• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Difference between Standard and French Tapered Flugelhorn Mo

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Lazarus
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2002 4:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What exactly is the difference between the two style of tapered mouthpieces for flugelhorn? I use a Schilke 15F for my Yamaha flugelhorn and have been told it is french taper (it is about as long as a cornet mouthpiece). For awhile I figured the difference between the two was the length of the shank because I also have a warburton 1FL that has a shank the size of a trumpet mouthpiece (I picked this up used from a store). But recently I was told that this was french taper as well. So is the difference in shank size or is it something different? Any info would be appreciated because I am very confused. It is somewhat embarrassing because I started playing flugelhorn a couple years ago in addition to the trumpet and have just never had to worry about the difference. Thanks!

--Stephen

P.S. Could any of you list some manufactures and what type of tapered mouthpiece they require?
trptdaddy
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 04, 2002 7:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote