• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

To All the Engineers:

View previous topic :: View next topic  
tpetplyr
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 15, 2005 5:36 am    Post subject: To All the Engineers: Reply with quote

I'm a student at GaTech that wishes fervently I was good enough to be at a Conservatory. As it is I manage to practice about 2 hours a day, get lessons on and off depending on which trumpet professor at which other university has time in his busy scheudle to take me. I play princpal in our (large but lazy) orchestra. But after the Atlanta Trumpet Festival last weekend, I once more got to thinking how much further I have to (and want to) go, how much more practicing I want (and need) to do, and how many playing oppertunities I might be (unwillingly) sacrificing upon graduation.

I realized that upon securing a job in engineering (chemical, btw), I will be expected to work all day. When will I practice? My apartment complex surely wouldn't appreciate 6AM or 10PM, although those would be prime candidates if I work from 7 or 8 until 6 or 7. Could I practice at work during lunch? And what about lessons? I have yet to find a teacher who wants to teach in the late evenings or the weekends, but I'm at work otherwise.

So with a restricted practice schedule, and lessons fewer and further between than they already are, I hopefully will be able to maintain my ability, but I don't know if I'll improve. I seem to need more maitnence than most people. But more importantly, where will I play? A community band? Maybe even an orchestra? That would be my dream, having a community orchestra. A brass quintet of friends? Some gigs here and there? Just my living room?

I know I'll probably never win a full time orchestral position, even though that's all I truly want. But I don't want to stop trying, I don't want to stop performing, and I don't want to stop improving.