• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Still working on High C

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
tpetplyr
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 5:32 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've been playing for 4 years now and I still cannot get above G or A (on top of the staff/ 1 ledger) with any consistency at all. My teacher has me doing drills on increasing the volume of air and its speed and using less lip, and these drills are doing wonders for my tone, but they have not affected my range at all. I play principal in our orchestra and our school band and find that I often need to go above the staff. I was wondering if the other books/ suggestions posted were still applicable to people who didn't have any high range foundation to begin with.

Stuart
Emb_Enh
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 6:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I was wondering if the other books/ suggestions posted were still applicable to people who didn't have any high range foundation to begin with.
=============================

Yes I would say the information would be applicable...however in an effort to find what works for ourselves it's up to us as individuals to try to be "our own best teachers" and sift through the information usinng trial and error carefully ...

Roddy o-iii<O

"E M B O U C H U R E___E N H A N C E M E N T"
BOOK 1 also... BOOK 2 + demo CD

[Self Analysis and Diagnostic Trumpet Method]
vivace
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2002 7:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

get some lip flexibility excercises, a la colin. Also, the more you play up there, the better.... like riding a bike.. how else are you gonna learn to ride without the training wheels if you don't go and do it.

also, pedal tones are good.
ByroTrumpet