• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

New mouthpiece?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Angryred509

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2024 3:54 am    Post subject: New mouthpiece? Reply with quote

Hello! I'm currently a freshman in High school in I can hit a D above the staff pretty comfortably on my Bach 3c, but I would like to know if a new mouthpiece would allow me to hit the higher parts in jazz ensemble more comfortably and louder. Thank you!
Robert P
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2024 4:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Maybe. A different mouthpiece *can* make it easier but it's not a magic fix by itself.

When you say you can play high D fairly easily, can you arpeggiate up to it, hold it for a couple of beats and back down again? Play a two-octave scale up - hold it for a few beats and back down? Pick it off and hold it for a few seconds? Play it loud, soft, put vibrato on it, play a D as part of a melodic line and really make it sing? Say for example playing "When You Wish Upon A Star" in the key of C major starting on second line G, or play the lead part on the original Glenn Miller Arrangement of "In The Mood" which ends on a chromatic run Bb to D.

If the answer to all the above isn't "Yes" then you still don't own it. What I've described should be doable on a 3C. And if you really own that D you should be able to at least touch on higher notes.

If things are working well with your playing mechanics a different mouthpiece might make it easier, can give your sound more bite/sizzle but won't fix things if there are problems with your embouchure mechanics.