• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

New Trumpet project

View previous topic :: View next topic  
horfhorf

PostPosted: Wed May 08, 2024 8:56 am    Post subject: New Trumpet project Reply with quote

This post might be a little long...but please read on. I'm looking for opinions and advice about a new project I'm considering.

First, a little background. I'm a conservatory trained french horn player but have always dabbled with trumpet-like instrument and I'm currently studying jazz improvisation with trumpet. But my main gig is teach music to young children, like kindergarten, first and second graders (ages 5 to .

My school is pretty heavy on Orff-Schulwerk pedagogy. In my interpretation, young kids need to do 4 things to learn musical behaviors; sing, say, dance and play. There are many aspects to each of these four items, but I'd like to focus on the "play".

Typically, Orff-Schulwerk teachers have their kids play lots of different instruments. In term of pitched instruments, small xylophones are the pitched instruments most often played by young children. When kids get a little older, recorder and sometimes guitar or ukelele is added to the xylophones. The goal of using these instruments isn't necessarily to develop mad skills. They are tools to explore musical concepts. For example, if I'm teaching a second grade class about the melodic fragment mi re do, they can sing it, play it on a recorder, or play it on a xylophone. If recorder is too tough for a certain kid, then they can use a xylophone. The playing technique isn't important, the musical concepts are. The idea is to have many tools to allow for differentiation in instruction but also to allow every kid to successfully participate in classroom ensemble performances.